North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Committee narrows list of candidates for the UND presidential search

Posted on 1/20/2016

The University of North Dakota presidential search committee met in Grand Forks today to narrow the list of 41 candidates to 15.

"Our committee had the opportunity to see a group of highly qualified applicants and spent quality time discussing each of their resumes and letters to see who is the best fit for the future of our university," UND Presidential Search Committee Co-Chair Hesham El-Rewini said. "AGB Search consultants are impressed with the strong interest in UND from across the country. It is an important and an exciting time for the campus and community."

The committee's next step will be to interview the candidates Feb. 1 and 2 when they will meet the candidates in person in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

"I think that going forward, we have narrowed our list of candidates to match UND's needs as the campus moves into the future. I think the results of today were very positive with great dialogue that will continue into each stage. The decision of who should lead this institution is a great responsibility and I thank all of those who are giving all of their efforts as well as volunteering their time to this very worthy endeavor," UND Presidential Search Committee Co-Chair Grant Shaft said.

The finalists who will proceed to the interview stage include:

Dr. Mark Rudin, vice president for research and economic development at Boise State University, Idaho
Dr. Robert C. Beatty, dean at College of Business at Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida
Dr. Rodney S. Hanley, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Fisk University, Tennessee
Dr. Kody Varahramyan, senior aide to the chancellor; former vice chancellor for research (2008-15) at Indiana University - Purdue University, Indianapolis (IUPUI), Indiana
Dr. Robert A. Kennedy, executive search consultant at Academic Keys, Minnesota and former President (2011-2012) for Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education
Dr. Ronald L. Elsenbaumer, senior advisor to the president; former provost and vice president for academic affairs (2011-15) at University of Texas in Arlington, Texas
Dr. Jay Noren, associate dean, College of Medicine at University of Illinois in Chicago and former president at Wayne State University
Dr. Helena S. Wisniewski, vice provost for research and graduate studies; dean of the Graduate School at University of Alaska Anchorage, Alaska
Mr. Ray M. Purpur, deputy director of athletics, physical education and recreation at Stanford University, California
Hon. Mark R. Kennedy, director of Graduate School of Political Management at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.; and former congressman (2001-07)
Dr. Nagi G. Naganathan, dean, College of Engineering and Interim President (2014-15) at University of Toledo, Ohio
Dr. Daniel L. Clay, Dean, College of Education at University of Missouri, Missouri
Dr. Timothy J. Greene, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Western Michigan University, Michigan
Dr. Allen Lee Sessoms, distinguished professor, School of Continuing Studies at Georgetown University, Washington, D.C., and former president (2008-13) at University System of the District of Columbia
Dr. Morgan R. Olsen, executive vice president, treasurer and chief financial officer at Arizona State University, Arizona

Following the next phase of interviews, the semi-finalists will be invited to campus between the dates of Feb. 11 through March 3 to meet with the search committee as well as meet with a broad base of internal and external constituency groups. The search committee will solicit feedback from faculty, staff, students and all other constituencies before the final meeting of the search committee scheduled for March 7. The search committee will recommend a slate of finalists to the State Board of Higher Education, which will conduct final interviews on the UND campus March 15, with the selection of the next UND president announced thereafter.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy