North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  Employees  |  Policies and Procedures  |  NDUS Procedures

NDUS Procedures

 << return 

SUBJECT: 400s: Academic affairs EFFECTIVE: January 12, 2011
Section: 402.4.7 Montana University System Transfer Summary

The goal of this procedure is to provide students of the Montana University System and Montana tribal colleges an opportunity to continue a full-time or part-time education toward a baccalaureate degree, when transferring from any of Montana's eleven public colleges and universities or any of Montana's seven tribal colleges to any North Dakota University System (NDUS) institution, following the student's completion of the Montana University System Core Curriculum.

Subject to an additional required advanced composition course, students who are verified, by official transcript or by official correspondence from one of Montana's 11 public colleges or universities or seven tribal colleges, to have completed the Montana University System Core Curriculum will be granted credit for having met lower division general education requirements at the receiving North Dakota institution. Students may be required to complete other courses, which may fall under a general education category, only if the courses are required as part of the student's major and were not completed prior to transfer or are a part of the receiving institution's upper division general education requirements. In addition to Montana University System Core Curriculum or Montana tribal college requirements, Montana students must complete a second or advanced composition course and additional courses under the Humanities, Fine Arts, or Social Science campus general education listing to reach 36 semester hours prior to or upon transfer to a NDUS institution.

To be eligible under this assurance, students must:
  1. provide documented completion of Montana University System Core Curriculum,
  2. have a 2.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale,
  3. apply for admission to the receiving institution,
  4. supply the receiving institution with all required documentation,
  5. meet all deadlines set by the receiving institution,
  6. be in good standing with the prior institution and
  7. be subject to the criminal justice disclosure and review process of each campus.
All students should seek academic advisement from both the sending institution and the receiving institution well in advance of attempting transfer. Students also should attempt to complete all prerequisites for admission to a chosen major. It is the responsibility of the student to apply for admission to baccalaureate degree-granting institutions where the student's chosen major is offered.

Some specific programs (education, pharmacy, nursing, etc.) require additional or higher admission standards than those enumerated in this procedure or may be required by federal or state licensing agencies to ensure additional criteria are met. Should a student meet the eligibility requirements in this procedure and not be admitted to a specific NDUS baccalaureate program, the student should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer for assistance in resolving the issue or finding an alternate institution or program.

Students who have completed the Montana University System Core Curriculum should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer by visiting or by calling 701-858-3494.

Montana University System Campuses (11)
Montana State University Bozeman
Montana State University Billings
Montana State University Northern
Montana State University Great Falls College of Technology
University of Montana Missoula
University of Montana Helena College of Technology
Montana Tech of the University of Montana
University of Montana Western
Dawson Community College
Flathead Valley Community College
Miles Community College

Montana Tribal Colleges (7)
Blackfeet Community College
Chief Dull Knife College
Fort Belknap College
Fort Peck Community College
Little Big Horn College
Salish Kootenai College
Stone Child College

Reference: SBHE Policy - 402.4  

Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, October 20, 2010.
Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, January 12, 2011.
Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy