North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  Employees  |  Policies and Procedures  |  NDUS Procedures

NDUS Procedures

 << return 

SUBJECT: 400s: Academic affairs EFFECTIVE: January 12, 2011
Section: 402.4.6 Oregon Transfer Summary

The goal of this procedure is to provide Oregon students an opportunity to continue a full-time or part-time education toward a baccalaureate degree, when transferring from any of Oregon's 24 public colleges and universities to any North Dakota University System (NDUS) institution, following the student's completion of the Oregon Transfer Module.

Students who are verified, by official transcript or by official correspondence from one of Oregon's 24 public colleges or universities, to have completed the Oregon Transfer Summary will be granted credit for having met lower division general education requirements at the receiving North Dakota institution. Oregon students with fewer than eight quarter hours in English Composition must complete a second or advanced composition course and additional courses under the Humanities, Fine Arts, or Social Science campus general education listing to reach 36 semester hours prior to or upon transfer to a NDUS institution. Students may be required to complete other courses, which may fall under a general education category, only if the courses are required as part of the student's major and were not completed prior to transfer or are a part of the receiving institution's upper division general education requirements.

To be eligible under this assurance, students must:
  1. provide documented completion of the Oregon Transfer Module (OTM),
  2. have a 2.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale,
  3. apply for admission to the receiving institution,
  4. supply the receiving institution with all required documentation,
  5. meet all deadlines set by the receiving institution,
  6. be in good standing with the prior institution and
  7. be subject to the criminal justice disclosure and review process of each campus.
All students should seek academic advisement from both the sending institution and the receiving institution well in advance of attempting transfer. Students also should attempt to complete all prerequisites for admission to a chosen major. It is the responsibility of the student to apply for admission to baccalaureate degree-granting institutions where the student's chosen major is offered.

Some specific programs (education, pharmacy, nursing, etc.) require additional or higher admission standards than those listed above, or may be required by federal or state licensing agencies to ensure additional criteria are met. Should a student meet the eligibility requirements listed above and not be admitted to a specific NDUS baccalaureate program, the student should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer for assistance in resolving the issue or finding an alternate institution or program.

Students who have completed the Oregon Transfer Module from Oregon should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer by visiting or by calling 701-858-3494.

Oregon Public Colleges and Universities (24)
Blue Mountain Community College
Central Oregon Community College
Chemeketa Community College
Clackamas Community College
Clatsop Community College
Columbia Gorge Community College
Klamath community College
Lane Community College
Linn-Benton Community College
Mount Hood Community College
Oregon Coast Community College
Portland Community College
Rogue Community College
Southwestern Oregon Community College
Tillamook Bay Community College
Treasure Valley Community College
Umpqua Community College
Eastern Oregon University
Oregon Institute of Technology
Oregon State University
Portland State University
Southern Oregon University
University of Oregon
Western Oregon University

Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, October 20, 2010.
Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, January 12, 2011.
Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy