North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
North Dakota University System
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  North Dakota University System  |  NDUS Councils  |  College Technical Education Council

College Technical Education Council

The College Technical Education Council was established by the State Board for Career and Technical Education and the State Board of Higher Education to improve the coordination, collaboration and effectiveness of career and technical education and training at all levels in North Dakota and increase effectiveness and efficiency in program delivery.

The CTEC formulates and recommends policies and procedures relating to career and technical education in postsecondary institutions; develops goals, programs and communication strategies; and considers financial elements of these strategies with regard to its mission.

CTEC members include the Director of Academic Affairs, the four University System community college presidents, the Campus Dean of Dakota College at Bottineau, and the Director and Executive Officer of the North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education. The council meets about nine times a year.

For more information, contact Lisa Johnson, 701-328-4143.

College Technical Education Council Members
Lisa Johnson Director of Academic Affairs. Meeting facilitator. North Dakota University System
Larry C. Skogen President Bismarck State College
Jerry Migler Campus Dean Dakota College at Bottineau
Doug Darling President Lake Region State College
John Richman President North Dakota State College of Science
John Miller President Williston State College
Wayne Kutzer Director and Executive Officer ND Department of Career and Technical Education

Memorandum of Understanding  (document)
File Size: 168.85 kb
Draft College Technical Education Council Agenda
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 9 a.m. CT
Conference Call

Call to Order

1. Approval of Agenda

2. Impact of SB2186. Will K-12 Innovation bill create any concerns for campuses? - Wayne Kutzer
3. New programs - Campus representatives
4. Award of college credit for technical CTE courses - Lisa Johnson
5. Award of college credit for TrainND courses (e.g. EMT) - Lisa Johnson
6. Discussion regarding digital badges - Tracy Korsmo, ITD (invited guest)
7 Things You Should Know About Badges
Several Links: MacArthur Foundation

Reports and Updates
7. Funding for a CTE site in Minot - Dr. Jerry Migler
8. North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education - Wayne Kutzer, State Director
9. North Dakota Department of Commerce - Wayde Sick, Director of Workforce Division
Workforce Enhancement Grant
10. North Dakota Job Service - Susan Gunsch, Workforce Development Director
Development Council Strategic Planning in May
11. North Dakota University System
Governor's Workforce Healthcare Planning Team (Wayde, Lisa, and Susan are members)

Other Business
12. Future Business Items

Future CTEC Meeting: September 26, 2017


Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy