North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  Students  |  Student Exchange/Reciprocity Programs

Student Exchange/Reciprocity Programs

Student exchange/reciprocity programs allow students to take advantage of academic programs which may not be available in their home states. These programs typically lower the amount of tuition that out-of-state students pay to attend public colleges or universities in participating states.

Minnesota-North Dakota Tuition Reciprocity Program
Under the Minnesota-North Dakota Tuition Reciprocity Program, if space is available and the program of study is approved under the reciprocity agreement, a Minnesota resident may attend a North Dakota public institution and pay the established reciprocity fee. Similarly, any North Dakota resident may attend a Minnesota public institution and pay the established reciprocity fee.

Students may apply to the North Dakota/Minnesota Tuition Reciprocity Program online here or download the reciprocity application form below. If you have questions about Minnesota-North Dakota application forms, contact the North Dakota University System Reciprocity Processor, 701-328-2964.

The 2018-19 ND/MN reciprocity application (Fall 2018, Spring/Summer 2019) will be on the website in March 2018. Please check back.

Professional Student Exchange (PSEP) Application  (document)
File Size: 980.33 kb
NDUS Application for Resident Student Status  (document)
File Size: 284.66 kb
2017-2018 ND/MN Reciprocity Application (Fall 2017, Spring/Summer 2018)  (document)
File Size: 287.1 kb
Midwest Student Exchange Program
Students from participating MHEC states pay no more than 150 percent of in-state resident tuition to attend participating colleges and universities in select midwestern states.

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
WICHE's exchange programs lower tuition costs for out-of-state students at participating colleges and universities in select western states and territories.
  • Western Undergraduate Exchange - Undergraduate students from WICHE states can request a reduced tuition rate of 150 percent of the resident tuition at participating campuses.

  • Western Regional Graduate Exchange - Graduate students from WICHE states are eligible to enroll in available programs at participating institutions at resident tuition rates. Students need not demonstrate financial need.

  • Professional Student Exchange Program - WICHE's Professional Student Exchange Program (PSEP) enables students in select western states to enroll in selected out-of-state professional programs usually because those fields of study are not available at public institutions in their home states. Students enrolled in WICHES's PSEP receive preference in admission. They pay reduced levels of tuition in public institutions or reduced standard tuition at private schools. The home state pays a support fee to the admitting school to help cover the cost of students' education. Fields supported by the State of North Dakota include, Dentistry, Optometry and Veterinary Medicine. In addition to applying to the college of your choice, a separate application for the North Dakota PSEP program is required. Applicants must apply for PSEP certification by October 15th of the year prior to enrollment for priority consideration. Please contact NDUS at 701-328-2906 or at with any questions.
Professional Student Exchange Program (PSEP) Application (document)

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy