North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Two State Board of Higher Education Members Confirmed by the Senate

Posted on 2/15/2011

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
Feb. 15, 2011Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs and Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

Two State Board of Higher Education Members Confirmed by the Senate

BISMARCK, N.D. - The North Dakota Senate today confirmed Kirsten Diederich, Ph.D., and Duaine Espegard as members of the State Board of Higher Education.

The initial phase of the confirmation process took place Feb. 9, 2011. Diederich and Espegard each appeared before a separate subcommittee of four senators.

"The State Board of Higher Education is one of the most visible boards in North Dakota," said Gov. Jack Dalrymple. "Being a member of this board carries a tremendous amount of responsibility and requires a significant time commitment. I'm deeply appreciative of each board member's dedicated public service."

Diederich and Espegard were appointed by Gov. John Hoeven to four-year terms, which began in July 2010. Diederich, Fargo, N.D., is an assistant professor of biology at Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn. Espegard, Grand Forks, N.D., is a retired Bremer Financial bank director, chief executive officer and regional president as well as a former state senator. He was first appointed to the SBHE in March 2007 and is the current chair of the board's Budget, Audit and Finance Committee.

Two additional SBHE members await confirmation. Terry Hjelmstad, Ph.D., and Grant Shaft were appointed by Gov. Dalrymple Jan. 20, 2011. They appeared before Senate subcommittees Feb. 10, 2011, and their confirmations will appear on the Senate calendar at a later date. If approved by the Senate, their four-year terms will begin July 2011.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy