North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Interim University System Chancellor Candidates Named

Posted on 7/19/2006

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
July 19, 2006Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

Interim University System Chancellor Candidates Named

BISMARCK, N.D. - Nine candidates nominated for the position of interim chancellor of the North Dakota University System were named today during a meeting of the State Board of Higher Education's interim chancellor search committee. They are:
  • Chuck Cheney: former superintendent, West Fargo School District
  • W. Jeremy Davis: former dean of the School of Law, University of North Dakota
  • Eddie Dunn: vice chancellor for strategic planning and executive director of CTEC, North Dakota University System
  • Phil Harmeson: senior associate to the president, University of North Dakota
  • Paul Markel: associate professor of psychology, Minot State University
  • James Schobel: former president, Mayville State University
  • Earl Strinden: former director, UND Development Foundation, and former majority leader, North Dakota House
  • Richard Tschider: retired CEO and president, St. Alexius Medical Center, Bismarck
    Lee Vickers: president, Dickinson State University

"I am very pleased with the people whose names have been suggested to the committee," said John Q. Paulsen, SBHE president and search committee chair. "Each of them possesses qualities that would serve the North Dakota University System well."

The committee also voted to recommend extension of the term the interim chancellor will serve from no later than June 30, 2007, to a term of 17 to 24 months. The longer term would allow the interim chancellor more time to follow up on legislative expectations and advance the important agenda of the University System.

Because Vickers has been nominated for the interim position, he no longer will serve on the committee. Dr. Ellen Chaffee, president of Valley City State University, was named to the search committee shortly after conclusion of the meeting. Other committee members are Pam Kostelecky, SBHE member; Charles Murphy, SBHE member; Sharon Etemad, president of Lake Region State College; and Michel Hillman, NDUS vice chancellor.

The committee will meet again at 9 a.m., Tuesday, July 25, 2006, and plans to forward the name or names of one or two finalists to the SBHE for consideration on Friday, July 28, 2006.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy