North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

SBHE Appoints Chancellor, MaSU and NDSCS Search Committees

Posted on 10/18/2006

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
Oct. 18, 2006Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

SBHE Appoints Chancellor, MaSU and NDSCS Search Committees

BISMARCK, N.D. - During an Oct. 16, 2006, the State Board of Higher Education appointed search committees to assist in selection of the next chancellor of the North Dakota University System and presidents of Mayville State University and the North Dakota State College of Science. Each committee will be made up of campus, community and board representatives.

"The work of the search committees will be vitally important to the future of the North Dakota University System," said John Q. Paulsen, SBHE president. "Each committee member lends a unique perspective to the selection process and has demonstrated strong commitment to our students and our state. The searches will require members to give generously of their time and expertise, and we are deeply appreciative of the guidance they will provide."

The chancellor's position will become vacant in July 2007 when Chancellor Eddie Dunn retires. The MaSU presidency became vacant when Dr. Pamela Balch resigned in June 2006; Dr. Gary Hagen currently serves as interim president. The NDSCS presidency became vacant in September 2006 when Dr. Sharon Hart was reassigned to interim executive director of the College Technical Education Council; Dr. John Richman currently serves as interim president.

The next steps in each search process will be selection of a search consultant and development of a search timeline. A list of search committee members follows.

Chancellor Search Committee

Richie Smith, SBHE member and search committee chair
Pam Kostelecky, SBHE member
John Q. Paulsen, SBHE president
Eddie Dunn, NDUS chancellor
Robert Haskins, North Dakota Student Association president
Dr. John Pederson, SBHE faculty advisor
Dr. Charles Kupchella, University of North Dakota president
Dr. Joe McCann, Williston State College president
Dr. Joe Chapman, North Dakota State University president
Dr. David Fuller, Minot State University president
Dennis Hill, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, Mandan, N.D
Paul Steffes, Steffes Corporation, Dickinson, N.D.
Don Hedger, Killdeer Mountain Manufacturing, Killdeer, N.D.
Don Morton, Microsoft, Fargo, N.D.

MaSU Search Committee

Bev Clayburgh, SBHE member and search committee chair
Charles Murphy, SBHE member
Nancy Hartje, MaSU student
Donna Mark, MaSU faculty
Mark Skean, MaSU faculty
Bob Kozojed, MaSU staff
Beth Swenson, MaSU staff
Tom Capouch, First & Farmers Bank president, Portland, N.D.
Richard Fugleberg, MaSU Foundation Board member; Fugleberg Seed and Bean; and farmer, Portland, N.D.
Rob Lauf, D.D.S., Goose River Dental Association, Mayville, N.D.
Don Moen, mayor, Mayville, N.D.
Eddie Dunn, NDUS chancellor (ex officio)

NDSCS Search Committee

Sue Andrews, SBHE member and search committee chair
Nick Rogers, SBHE member
Mark Schaefers, NDSCS Student Senate president
Dan Hanson, vice president of the North Dakota Student Association and NDSCS Student Senate
Barb Diederick, NDSCS faculty
Kevin Gyolai, NDSCS Faculty Senate president
Terry Marohl, NDSCS faculty
Barb Bang, NDSCS administrators
Ken Kompelien, NDSCS administrators
Thomas Hickman, NDSCS staff
Valerie Erickson, NDSCS staff
Craig Caspers, Vertin Munson Funeral Home, Wahpeton, N.D.
Michael L., Connell, Wahpeton Public Schools superintendent
Perry Miller, NDSCS Alumni Foundation director emeritus
Rick Steckler, NDSCS Alumni Foundation; Bank of the West of Wahpeton, N.D., and Breckenridge, Minn., president
Jim Sturdevant, mayor, Wahpeton, N.D.
Eddie Dunn, NDUS chancellor (ex officio)

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy