North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Seven Students Named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team

Posted on 4/25/2008

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
April 25, 2008Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

Seven Students Named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team

BISMARCK, N.D. - Seven North Dakota community college students have been named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony Saturday, April 26, 2008, 6 p.m., at the Bismarck State College Student Union, Missouri Room.

Members of the 2008 All-North Dakota Academic Team, the colleges they attend and their hometowns are:
  • Alexandra Hartwig: Bismarck State College, Mandan, N.D.
  • Kimberly Zins: Bismarck State College, Bismarck, N.D.
  • Steven Allard: Lake Region State College, Devils Lake, N.D.
  • Derek Behrman: Minot State University -Bottineau, Counsel, Manitoba
  • Logan Stundal: Minot State University -Bottineau, Bottineau, N.D.
  • Nathan Dahle: North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, N.D.
  • Beth Althoff: North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, N.D.

"North Dakota's community colleges do an outstanding job of preparing students to enter the world of work or to go on for additional education," said Bill Goetz, NDUS chancellor. "The University System is very proud of these seven students and their academic achievements. They are excellent role models of individual accomplishment."

In North Dakota, the two-year college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and CTEC, the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The all-state academic team recognition program is active in 35 states. Students named to the all-state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Members of the North Dakota team will receive certificates, medallions and monetary awards. Each team member also is eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, the University of Mary, the University of North Dakota and Valley City State University.

As the highest-scoring member of the North Dakota team, Behrman also was named a New Century Scholar. He represented the state in the opening ceremonies of the American Association of Community Colleges annual convention April 5-8, 2008, in Philadelphia, Pa. Behrman received a $2,000 scholarship, and MiSU-B was recognized at the AACC convention.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy