North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

State Education Leaders Attend MHEC Summit; Goetz Named MHEC Chair

Posted on 11/21/2008

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
Nov. 21, 2008Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

State Education Leaders Attend MHEC Summit; Goetz Named MHEC Chair

BISMARCK, N.D. - Education, government and business leaders from 12 Midwestern states discussed improving college access and completion at a summit hosted by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact in Minneapolis Nov. 17 - 19, 2008.

MHEC commissioners representing North Dakota at the meetings were Bruce Christianson; James Davis, president, Turtle Mountain Community College; Sen. Tim Flakoll; Sen. Tom Seymour; Bill Goetz, chancellor, North Dakota University System; and Rep. Dennis E. Johnson. Other North Dakota education leaders who attended were Rep. Ken Svedjan, chair, Interim Higher Education Committee; Rep. Nancy Johnson; Rep. Kim Koppelman; Brandi Pelham, Office of the Governor; Larry Skogen, president, Bismarck State College; Steve Shirley, president, Valley City State University; Michel Hillman, NDUS vice chancellor for academic and student affairs; and Marsha Krosteng; NDUS vice chancellor for strategic planning.

The summit was part of Making Opportunity Affordable, a multi-year initiative of the Lumina Foundation for Education. The initiative focuses on the role of states in expanding postsecondary opportunities and on education as the key to remaining competitive in a global information and knowledge-based economy.

Following the two-day summit, MHEC commissioners and guests gathered for the MHEC annual meeting. Currently the vice chair, NDUS Chancellor Bill Goetz now begins serving a one-year term as chair of the commission.

Founded in 1991, MHEC includes 12 states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. MHEC sponsors a variety of programs to reduce costs, increase student access and conduct policy research and analysis. The compact is statutorily created and governed by a board of five commissioners from each member state. Commissioners include legislators, governor's representatives and higher education leaders.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy