North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Search for new president to lead Mayville State University progressing

Posted on 2/8/2018

Progress is being made in the search for a new president to lead Mayville State University. Current president, Dr. Gary Hagen, has announced his plans to retire on July 31, 2018. He has served as president of the university since 2005. Hagen has served the university in various roles, including as a member of the faculty and also in various administrative positions, since 1976.

AGB Search, the consultants who are assisting with the search at Mayville State, met with several constituents, including Mayville State faculty, staff, and alumni and community members, in listening sessions last fall. The data gathered was used to develop a profile and advertisement that have been strategically marketed in The Chronicle of Higher Education and other higher education publications. In addition, the search firm made contacts with prospective candidates in several other ways.

As a result, 48 candidates submitted application materials to AGB. Of those, 45 met qualifications and were forwarded to the Presidential Search Committee for their initial review. The committee met in executive session on Thursday, Feb. 1, 2018, to discuss candidates. After thorough discussion and analysis, 12 candidates were identified and have been offered an opportunity for an interview over the Interactive Video Network (IVN) later this month.

Once the IVN interviews are completed, the search committee will determine semi-finalists and those candidates will be invited to campus in early March for on-campus interviews and to meet the Mayville State campus community. Once interviews have concluded, the Presidential Search Committee will convene to discuss the finalists and forward three or more names to the State Board of Higher Education for their review and consideration at the March 28, 2018, SBHE meeting taking place at Mayville State. The Board is ultimately responsible for appointment of institution presidents within the North Dakota University System, as outlined in SBHE policy 601.1.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy