North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

SBHE Announces NDSU Presidential Search Committee

Posted on 11/19/2009

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
Nov. 19, 2009Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs and Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

SBHE Announces NDSU Presidential Search Committee

BISMARCK, N.D. - The State Board of Higher Education today named 18 campus, community and state leaders to the North Dakota State University presidential search committee.

"The names of many highly qualified people were submitted for consideration, which made the selection process very difficult," said Richie Smith, president of the State Board of Higher Education. "I'm confident we are moving forward with a committee that will represent the many constituencies of NDSU very well."

A list of the search committee members follows. Chancellor William Goetz is an ex officio member.

Steven Swiontek, chairChairman, president and CEO of Gate City BankNDSU foundation and alumni
Amber AltstadtStudent body presidentNDSU students
Sue AndrewsMember of the State Board of Higher EducationSBHE
Barry BatchellerPresident and CEO of Appareo SystemsPublic
James BurgumManaging director, Arthur VenturesPublic
Bruce ChristiansonGeneral manager/CEO of Magic City Financial GroupPublic
Lynn DornDirector of women's athleticsNDSU administrators
Catherine HaugenAssociate vice president for student affairsNDSU staff
Kalpana KattiProfessor of civil engineeringNDSU faculty
Paul LangsethVice chairman of the State Board of Agricultural Research and EducationAgriculture
Mark MeisterAssociate professor of communication and president of University SenateNDSU faculty
Don MortonMicrosoft site leader for Fargo CampusPublic
Eveadean MyersVice president for equity, diversity and global outreachNDSU administrators
Bonnie NeasVice president for information technologyNDSU administrators
John Q. PaulsenMember of the NDSU Development Foundation Board of TrusteesNDSU foundation and alumni
Kris SheridanPresident of Park Company RealtorsPublic
Richie SmithPresident of the State Board of Higher EducationSBHE
Mike WarnerIndependent businessman/agriculturistAgriculture
William GoetzNorth Dakota University System chancellor (ex officio) NDUS

In a related action, the SBHE approved a seven-month contract for Richard A. Hanson, Ph.D., interim president of NDSU. Hanson will serve from Dec. 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010, at a salary of $157,500 plus $17,500 in retirement benefits, consistent with retirement benefits provided to other senior administrators. The SBHE hopes to have the new president in place July 1, 2010.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy