North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Students Named to the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Posted on 3/2/2015

Students Named to the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team
Contact: Billie Jo Lorius, Director of Communications
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.4107

BISMARCK, N.D. - Seven North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, March 4, at Bismarck State College's National Energy Center of Excellence. North Dakota University System Interim Chancellor Larry C. Skogen will be the keynote speaker for this year's program.

Members of the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are:

Dylan Horner, Mandan, Bismarck State College
Patrick Thomas, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College
Brandon Tofte, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College
Sara Holcomb, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
Hunter Onchuck, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
Whitney Brandvold, Bottineau, Dakota College at Bottineau
Haley Mastvelten, Bottineau, Dakota College at Bottineau

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Skogen. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Jack Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy