North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness Applications Available

Posted on 3/13/2013

For More Information Contact:
March 13, 2013 North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.224.2541

Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness Applications Available

BISMARCK, N.D. - Applications for a teacher incentive program aimed at retaining elementary and secondary teachers will be accepted by the North Dakota University System Office beginning April 1, 2013. The application deadline is June 30, 2013.

The Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness Program will reduce student loan indebtedness by $1,000 per year up to a maximum of three years for teachers who work in a content area identified as a teacher shortage area by the superintendent of public instruction. Eligibility begins after completion of one year of teaching in North Dakota, but teachers may have earned their degrees in other states.

The 16 defined shortage areas for academic year 2012 - 13 are:
1. Art
2. Business and office technology/business education
3. Career clusters
4. English as a second language
5. English language arts
6. Family and consumer sciences
7. Health careers
8. Information technology
9. Languages/Native American languages
10. Marketing education
11. Mathematics
12. Music
13. Science
14. Social studies
15. Special education programing
16. Trade and industrial education

The Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness Program was approved by the North Dakota Legislature during the 2001 Legislative Session. Additional information and the application form are available on the NDUS website at To access this information, click on Students/Paying for College/North Dakota Grants & Scholarships.

Applications also may be obtained by calling the NDUS Office at 701.224.2541 or by emailing

Applicants will be notified prior to July 30, 2013.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy