North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

State Board of Higher Education Elects 2010-11 Officers

Posted on 5/11/2010

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
May 11, 2010Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs and Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

State Board of Higher Education Elects 2010-11 Officers

BISMARCK, N.D. - Jon Backes, current vice president of the State Board of Higher Education, was elected 2010-11 SBHE president today during the board's annual retreat in Bismarck, N.D. SBHE member Grant Shaft was elected vice president. Backes and Shaft will serve as board officers from July 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011.

"Jon Backes and Grant Shaft will provide visionary leadership for the North Dakota University System," said Richie Smith, outgoing SBHE president. "The University System is a complex and dynamic organization that is vitally important to the future of our state, and both Jon and Grant are deeply committed to its success." Smith served two terms as board president, from July 2008 through June 2010.

Backes is an attorney in the Minot, N.D., law firm of McGee, Hankla, Backes and Dobrovolny, P.C., where his practice focuses on assisting clients with business, real estate and commercial law needs. He served as 2008-09 and 2009-10 SBHE vice president. Backes was appointed to the board in 2007; his term will run through June 30, 2011.

Shaft is a partner in the Grand Forks, N.D., law firm of Shaft, Reis and Shaft, Ltd. He was a member of the House of Representatives from 1986 to 1990. Shaft also was appointed to the SBHE in 2007 and will serve through June 30, 2011.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy