North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

REVISED NDUS names Lake Region State College presidential search advisory committee

Posted on 12/3/2012

For More Information Contact:
Linda Donlin, Director of Communications and
Media Relations
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

REVISED NDUS names Lake Region State College presidential search advisory committee

BISMARCK, N.D. - North Dakota University System today announced the formation of a Presidential Search Advisory Committee to identify candidates for the position of President of Lake Region State College in Devils Lake, N.Dak. Mike Bower, Ph.D., left LRSC to be closer to family and is now president of Owens Community College in Toledo, Ohio. Dr. Doug Darling has been serving as interim president since May.

NDUS Chancellor H. A. Shirvani appointed the Committee to conduct a national search for candidates that he will consider and make a recommendation to the Board. The Committee is chaired by the President of SBHE and is composed of students, faculty and staff from LRSC as well as community leaders from the area. In addition, AGB Search, a national search firm that focuses on higher education, will assist with the search process.

"I am certain that the members who have been chosen to serve on this search committee will do an excellent job of representing the many constituencies of this fine institution," Shirvani said. "I look forward to working with them and am confident we will soon have a list of the best possible candidates. We are hopeful that we will have a new president by late March or early April."

Members of the Committee include the following:

1. Dr. Terry Hjelmstad, Board Member; Chair
2. Dr. Donna Gutschmidt, Associate Professor of Marketing; Faculty Representative
3. Kory Boehmer, Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biology; Faculty Representative
4. Dr. Paul Gunderson, Director of the Dakota Precision Ag Center; Administrative Staff
5. Nicole Lundquist, Accounts Payable Associate; Staff
6. Devin Hoffarth, LRSC Student Government President; Student
7. Dr. Steve Shirley, VCSU President and Alumni Foundation Member; NDUS Representative
8. Scott Thompson, President/CEO, Ramsey National Bank; Foundation Member
9. Armen Hanson, Farmers Union Insurance; Alumni; Foundation Member
10. Dr. Randy Fixen, VP of Student Services, Vice President

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy