North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

12 Students Named to the 2012 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Posted on 3/6/2012

For More Information Contact:
John Irby, Public Affairs Consultant
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

BISMARCK, N.D. - Twelve North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2012 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony Wednesday, March 7, 2012, 6 p.m., at Dakota College at Bottineau, Centennial Alumni Center, Thatcher Hall, Bottineau, N.D.

Members of the 2012 All-North Dakota Academic Team, the colleges they attend and their hometowns are:

Craig Brown, Jr., Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Wood Lake, N.D.
Marcial Ferreira, Dakota College at Bottineau, Pinecrest Fla.
Katrina Jangula, North Dakota State College of Science, Bismarck, N.D.
Brett Leben, Lake Region State College, Devils Lake, N.D.
Tyler Loll, North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, N.D.
Keith Osgood, Dakota College at Bottineau, Homecrest, Fla.
Lily Reese, Lake Region State College, Warwick, N.D.
Ashley Renner, Bismarck State College, Mandan, N.D.
Tina Ross, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Oberon, N.D.
Tricia Schmeichel, Bismarck State College, McLaughlin, S.D.
Kara Swenson, Williston State College, Arnegard, N.D.
Siera Zimmerman, Williston State College, Williston, N.D.

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Bill Goetz, chancellor of the North Dakota University System. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that both the students and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and CTEC, the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Each team member also is eligible for scholarships from Valley City State University, University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, University of Mary and Jamestown College.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy