North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Chancellor Search Committee Recommends Four to SBHE

Posted on 3/1/2012

For More Information Contact:
John R. Irby, Public Affairs Consultant
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

BISMARCK, N.D. - Tim Flakoll, Marshall Hill, Hamid Augustine Shirvani and Warren Kent Wray have been recommended by the North Dakota University System Chancellor Search Committee to the State Board of Higher Education for the position of University System chancellor.

Flakoll is provost of Tri-College University, Fargo-Moorhead. Hill is executive director, Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education, Lincoln, Neb. Shirvani is president of California State University-Stanislaus, Turlock, Calif. And Wray is interim chancellor, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Mo.

The SBHE will meet March 13 to interview the four and select the next chancellor. The SBHE president and search consultant will negotiate contract terms. It is hoped a new chancellor will begin an appointment by July 1, 2012.

The four visited in Bismarck Feb. 28-29 with various constituents and had final interviews with the search committee.

The chancellor serves as the chief executive officer of the State Board of Higher Education, is the chief executive officer of the NDUS and carries out the policies and directives of the SBHE. The NDUS office is located at the state Capitol in Bismarck.

The University System includes 11 institutions of higher education and has an operating budget of nearly $1.2 billion. Direct reports to the chancellor include the campus presidents, the vice chancellor for academic and student affairs, the vice chancellor for administrative affairs, the vice chancellor for strategic planning and executive director of CTEC, the general counsel/SBHE executive secretary, chief information officer, director of internal audit and risk assessment, the public affairs and marketing director and the executive assistant/office manager.

For more information about the search process, go to: or contact SBHE President Grant Shaft at

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy