North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

SBHE Names Chancellor Search Committee Membership and Consultant

Posted on 9/15/2011

For More Information Contact:
Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs & Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

BISMARCK, N.D. - The State Board of Higher Education today named 16 higher education and private sector representatives to a committee that will conduct a search for a new chancellor of the North Dakota University System.

"Being chancellor of the North Dakota University System is one of the most visible, demanding and rewarding positions in our state," said Grant Shaft, SBHE president. "The State Board of Higher Education is fully committed to hiring a chancellor who has the special blend of talents needed to lead higher education and engage with our many public and private sector partners. I'm very confident members of the search committee understand this charge and will represent their constituencies very well."

Members of the search committee include:

State Board of Higher Education
Grant Shaft (Grand Forks)
Kirsten Diederich (Fargo)
Claus Lembke (Bismarck)

University System Presidents
Dean Bresciani, Ph.D., NDSU
Robert Kelley, Ph.D., UND
John Richman, Ph.D., NDSCS
Steve Shirley, Ph.D., VCSU

NDUS Office
Randall Thursby, NDUS chief information officer (Fargo)

John Girard, Ph.D., SBHE faculty advisor (Minot)

William Woodworth, North Dakota Student Association president (Grand Forks)

Aaron Berg, North Dakota University System Staff Senate president, (Wahpeton)

Katie Hasbargen, Microsoft senior communications manager (Fargo)
Rodney Howe, State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (Hettinger)
Pam Kostelecky, Sax Motor Company owner and president (Dickinson)
Terry Olson, Williston State College Foundation director (Williston)
Joe Rothschiller, Steffes Corp. chief operating officer/president (Dickinson)

The SBHE also approved the selection of AGB Search, an affiliate of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, as consultants for the chancellor search. James P. Ferrare, Ph.D., principal in the firm, and James H. McCormick, Ph.D., search consultant and former chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, will lead the search. AGB Search will be paid $65,000 for their work.

Chancellor Bill Goetz announced his plans to retire Aug. 31, 2012, earlier this year.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy