North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Hoffarth Named First University System Staff Advisor to the SBHE

Posted on 6/16/2011

For More Information Contact:
Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public
Affairs & Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

BISMARCK, N.D. -The North Dakota University System Staff Senate has appointed Janice Hoffarth, an administrative assistant in the University of North Dakota Department of Music, to serve as the first staff advisor to the State Board of Higher Education.

Approved by the 2011 Legislative Assembly, HB 1213 provides for the addition of a non-voting staff advisor to the SBHE. Hoffarth will serve a one-year term beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2012.
"University System staff members are integral to the success of higher education in our state," said Jon Backes, president of the State Board of Higher Education. "The staff voice will be a valuable addition to our board discussions. We welcome Janice Hoffarth as the first staff advisor to the board."

An Esmond, N.D., native, Hoffarth was one of six statewide winners of the 2010 Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service. She was the 2008-09 UND Staff Senate president. That same year she was elected the first president of the North Dakota University System Staff Senate, which was convened in 2008 with the approval of Chancellor Bill Goetz. Each of the 11 campuses has at least one NDUS Staff Senate representative. The group represents more than 8,000 full and part-time University System employees.

Hoffarth will join John Girard, Ph.D., a Minot State University professor, as an advisor to the board. On July 1, 2011, Girard will begin his second one-year term as the non-voting faculty advisor to the SBHE. He recently was reappointed to this position by the University System Council of College Faculties. A third campus representative also serves on the board; a student from one of the 11 University System campuses will be named by Gov. Dalrymple to serve for the 2011-12 term. As an appointee of the governor, the student representative is a voting member of the board.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy