North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

State Board of Higher Education Elects 2011-12 Officers

Posted on 5/9/2011

For More Information Contact:
Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs & Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

BISMARCK, N.D. - Grant Shaft was elected 2011-12 president of the State Board of Higher Education, and Duaine Espegard was elected vice president today at a meeting at Bismarck State College.

Shaft, Grand Forks, N.D., is the current board vice president. He is a partner in the law firm of Shaft, Reis and Shaft, Ltd. He served in the North Dakota House of Representatives from 1986 to 1990. Shaft began his first term on the board July 1, 2007, was reappointed to the board by Gov. Jack Dalrymple and will serve through June 30, 2015.

Duaine Espegard, Grand Forks, N.D., is the current chair of the Budget, Audit and Finance Committee and the Executive Compensation Committee. He is a retired Bremer Financial bank director, CEO and regional president. Espegard served in the North Dakota Senate from 2000 to 2006. He began his first term on the SBHE in March 2007, was reappointed by Gov. John Hoeven and will serve through June 30, 2014.

The term of Jon Backes, current president of the board, ends June 30, 2011. He did not seek reappointment to the board.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy