North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News

Ten Students Named to the 2011 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Posted on 3/4/2011

For Immediate Release:For More Information Contact:
March 4, 2011Debra A. Anderson, Director of Public Affairs and Marketing
North Dakota University System
Phone: 701.328.2962

Ten Students Named to the 2011 All-North Dakota Academic Team

BISMARCK, N.D. - Ten North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2011 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony Wednesday, March 9, 2011, 6:30 p.m., at Bismarck State College's Prairie Room, Bismarck, N.D.

Members of the 2011 All-North Dakota Academic Team, the colleges they attend and their hometowns are:

Luke Hushagen: Bismarck State College, Bismarck, N.D.
Megan Toepke: Bismarck State College, Bismarck, N.D.
Waynita Chaske: Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Oberon, N.D.
Magdeline Harrison: Cankdeska Cikana Community College, St Michael, N.D.
Jacob Bean: Dakota College at Bottineau, Bottineau, N.D.
Jennifer Thiessen: Dakota College at Bottineau, Bottineau, N.D.
Leonie de Jonge: Lake Region State College, Devils Lake, N.D.
Lee Dokken: Lake Region State College, Velva, N.D.
Megan Dierks: North Dakota State College of Science, Chokio, Minn.
Hannah Schradick: North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, N.D.

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Bill Goetz, chancellor of the North Dakota University System. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that both the students and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and CTEC, the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Each team member also is eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Jamestown College, Mayville State University, Minot State University, the University of Mary, the University of North Dakota and Valley City State University.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy