North Dakota University System
Policies and Procedures

NDUS Procedures

 << return 

SUBJECT: 400s: Academic affairs EFFECTIVE: November 4, 2009
Section: 402.4.1 Washington State Community and Technical College Transfer Summary

The goal of the Washington Transfer Assurance Procedure is to provide students an opportunity to continue a full-time or part-time education toward a baccalaureate degree, when transferring from any of the institutions of the Washington State Community and Technical College System to any of the following colleges or universities of the North Dakota University System: Bismarck State College, Dickinson State University, Lake Region State College, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Dakota College at Bottineau, North Dakota State University, University of North Dakota, Valley City State University, and Williston State College, following the student's completion of an associate in arts (AA-DTA) degree.

Students who graduate with an associate in arts (AA-DTA) degree are assured of an opportunity to continue studying toward a bachelor's degree on a full-time or part-time basis at one of the baccalaureate degree-granting institutions of the NDUS. Students who complete at least 60 transferable credits will be afforded junior (third year) standing.

Students completing the AA-DTA degree option from one of Washington's community or technical colleges will be granted credit for having met all lower division general education requirements at the receiving North Dakota campus, with the exception that students may be required to complete a communications course in public speaking, speech, or other approved communication course. Students may be required to complete other courses, which may fall under a general education category only if the courses are required as part of the student's major and were not completed prior to transfer or are a part of the receiving institution's upper division general education requirements.

To be eligible under this assurance, students must:
  1. complete an associate in arts (AA-DTA) degree,
  2. have a 2.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale,
  3. apply for admission to the receiving institution,
  4. supply the receiving institution with all required documentation,
  5. meet all deadlines set by the receiving institution,
  6. be in good standing with the prior institution and
  7. be subject to the criminal justice disclosure and review process of each campus.

All students should seek academic advisement from both the sending institution and the receiving institution prior to attempting transfer. Students should also attempt to complete all prerequisites for admission to a chosen major. It is the responsibility of the student to apply for admission to baccalaureate degree-granting institutions where the student's chosen major is offered.

While transferring prior to completing an associate in arts (AA-DTA) degree makes students ineligible for this assurance program, transfer is still possible; and students should contact the receiving institution for details, assistance, and requirements.

Some specific programs (education, pharmacy, nursing, etc.) require additional or higher admission standards than those listed above, or may be required by federal or state licensing agencies to ensure additional criteria are met. Should a student meet the eligibility requirements listed above and not be admitted to a particular NDUS baccalaureate program, the student should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer for assistance in resolving the issue or finding an alternate institution or program.

Students who have completed the AA-DTA from a Washington institution and require assistance should contact the NDUS Director of Articulation and Transfer by visiting or by calling 701.328.2974 or 701.858.3494.

Reference: SBHE Policy - 402.4  

Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, December 6, 2006
Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, December 19, 2007.
Chancellor's Cabinet Meeting, November 4, 2009.

[ Back to website ]