North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  Employees  |  Policies and Procedures  |  NDUS Procedures

NDUS Procedures

 << return 

SUBJECT: 400s: Academic affairs EFFECTIVE: October 23, 2015
Section: 404.2 Guidelines for Establishing Collaborative Courses and Programs

  1. The guidelines outlined in this procedure apply to programs offered collaboratively between NDUS institutions through IVN or electronic means and provide a basis for negotiation between partner institutions that are involved in collaborative course/program delivery. The institutions are allowed latitude in negotiating and formulating each memorandum of understanding. The memorandum must address each of the points outlined below. However, guidelines B and C must be complied with as outlined.

  2. As a matter of Cabinet procedure, collaborative program offerings must be evaluated using the Program Delivery Decision Process. Prior to Cabinet review, a detailed evaluation of the following factors must be documented by the participating institutions and submitted to the Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs and the Chief Financial Officer: need, cost, quality, relationship to the institution, duplication, articulation and student services (e.g., access fee, registration, financial aid, counseling).

  3. All collaborative program agreements must be formulated in advance of Chancellor and Cabinet review and Board approval, if Board approval is necessary. A memorandum of understanding disclosing the fiscal and academic arrangements must be signed by the participating institutions. The memorandum of understanding shall be reviewed annually by the participating institutions.

  4. Tuition and fees shall be charged and collected as provided under Procedure 805.3.1.

Reference: SBHE Policy - 404.1  

Chancellor's Cabinet, June 2001.
Chancellor's Cabinet, October 23, 2015.
Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy