North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

NDSU student activities director receives Gunkelman Award

Posted on 5/4/2018

Matt Skoy, director of student activities, received the highly-prized Mary McCannel Gunkelman Recognition Award during ceremonies May 4. The annual honor recognizes the person at NDSU who most helps to create a welcoming and happy atmosphere on campus.

"I'm so honored; it's humbling," said Skoy, who joined the NDSU professional staff in 2009. "We have wonderful faculty, staff and students on this campus. I get excited and happy all the time, but that's really a reaction to everybody else doing the same. We work and study in an extraordinary place."

Skoy's nominators commended his enthusiasm, energy, passion and hard work. They noted he has a ready smile for people visiting campus or passing through the Memorial Union. "Any meeting with him is the highlight of my day," one nominator said. "He brings a positive attitude and air of excitement with him where ever he goes."

The award was established in 1987, by the late John L. Gunkelman and his family in memory of Mary McCannel Gunkelman, who was a 1942 graduate of the College of Home Economics. She was dedicated to the principle that a student would be more likely to attain their full potential in an enjoyable environment, and the award is based on that concept.

The other nominees for the 2018 award included:

Krista Aldrich, graduate student, English

Robin Groberg,Graduate School

Christine Davis, NDSU Dining

Tanya Erickson, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Liz Frannea, College of Health Professions dean's office

Thomas Hall, associate professor in the School of Education

Char Kuss, Department of Animal Sciences

Deb Maertens, Office of the Provost

Charles Okigbo, professor of communication

Kunle Owaniyi, graduate student, construction management

Brock Robbins, junior, university studies

Melissa Selders-Ortez, Graduate School

Lauren Singelmann, senior, electrical engineering

Sue Wolter, International Student and Study Abroad Services

Members of the Gunkelman family and several past recipients and nominees were among the audience at the ceremony in the Harry D. McGovern Alumni Center atrium.

As a student-focused, land grant, research university, we serve our citizens.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy