North Dakota University System
A-Z Index
Access. Innovation. Excellence.
Colleges & Universities Academics & Activities State Board of Higher Education North Dakota University System News Reports & Information
Business & Industry
Printer Friendly Page You are here
NDUS Home  |  News  |  Campus Happenings

NDSU horticulture students earn scholarships

Posted on 11/30/2016

NDSU horticulture students Connor Hagemeyer and Sarah Kickert were named 2016-17 Minnesota Nursery and Landscape Association Foundation academic award recipients. Hagemeyer will receive a scholarship co-sponsored by Gertens Greenhouses and Garden Center. Kickert will receive a scholarship co-sponsored by the Robin D. Linder Memorial Scholarship.

Hagemeyer, a sophomore from Clara City, Minnesota, is advised by Harlene Hatterman-Valent, assistant department head and professor of high value crop production. He is vice president of the NDSU Horticulture and Forestry Club. After earning his degree, Hagemeyer wants to become an ornamental plant breeder.

Kickert, a sophomore from Shakopee, Minnesota, is advised by Todd West, associate professor of woody plant improvement. She works for West in the Woody Plant Improvement program and is a member of the NDSU Horticulture and Forestry Club. Her goals after graduation include working in residential landscape design and potentially returning to NDSU to pursue a master's degree in landscape architecture.

The scholarships are scheduled to be presented during the Green Industry Awards Celebration during January in Minneapolis. Recipients also are offered complimentary registration to attend Northern Green, formerly known as the Northern Green Expo, to be held at the same time in Minneapolis.

The goal of the foundation's academic awards program is to honor the academic achievements of college students who have made horticulture or landscaping their career choice. In addition, the program helps students make connections with nursery and landscape employers who are association members. More than 20 scholarships are awarded annually.

As a student-focused, land-grant, research university, we serve our citizens.

Bismarck State CollegeDakota College at BottineauDickinson State UniversityLake Region State CollegeMayville State UniversityMinot State UniversityNorth Dakota State College of ScienceNorth Dakota State UniversityUniversity of North DakotaValley City State UniversityWilliston State College
Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Disclaimer  |   Accessibility  |   Security Policy